The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Columbia State Community College
  Jan 20, 2018
Catalog and Student Handbook 2008-2009 [Archived Catalog]

Columbia State Foundation

On June 22, 1965, the State board of Education approved Columbia as the site of Tennessee’s first community college. At last, a college education would be more accessible for the residents of South Central Tennessee.

To help meet the scholarship and financial needs of Columbia State students, the Columbia State Foundation was organized in March of 1971 as a non-profit corporation. Its purposes, as specified in the charter are “to receive, hold, care for, invest, use, and distribute income for the promotion of educational activities at Columbia State.” Since its beginning, the Foundation has provided over $8 million dollars in additional funds for scholarships and special needs at Columbia State.


The Columbia State Foundation encourages alumni, friends, economic partners and others to invest their time and resources toward the improvement of education at Columbia State and to making higher education accessible to students in the College’s service area.

2007-2008 Executive Committee

Mr. Tim Pettus, Chair
Ms. Sydney McClain, Immediate Past Chair
Mr. Lonnie Roberts, Vice Chair
Mr. Kenneth R. Horner, ex-officio, Treasurer
Ms. Elaine Kelsey, ex-officio, Secretary
Dr. Janet Smith, ex-officio
Dr. Ken Moore, Development Committee Chair
Mr. Waymon Hickman, Trustees Committee Chair
Mr. Doug Venable, Community Relations/Grants Committee Chair
Dr. Ronnie Erwin, Investment Committee Chair
Mr. Barry White, Development Committee Vice-Chair
Mr. Steve Bates, Investment Committee Vice-Chair
Mr. Jim York

Foundation Board

Brent Allred   Blake Lay
Victor Beck, Jr., DDS   Betsye Ledford
Judith Carre-Strickland   Bill Marbet
Caroline Cross   Christa Martin
Barry Doss   Larry McKnight
Elizabeth Eubanks   Edward Moore
Nell Evers   Trent Ogilvie
Tiby Ferguson   Robert Otwell
Barry Gidcomb   Lonnie Roberts
Ronald Griffeth, Ed.D.   Mary Ann Roberts
Kellie Gwin   Danny Rochelle
Richard Herrington   J. Frank Thompson
Craig Holland   John Tomlinson
Sam Kennedy   Con Vrailas
Steve Konz   Bill Walter
Bethany Lay