Click on a link to be taken to the entry below.
| ^ TOP
Fees listed in this catalog are subject to change without notice. The College, in conjunction with the Tennessee Board of Regents, reserves the right to add, delete, or change fees for admission to the College or for services rendered by the College at any time without prior notice to the public.
Expenses are assessed and payable by the semester since each semester is a separate unit of operation. A student may enroll at the beginning of any semester. Registration at the beginning of each semester is not complete until all fees have been paid (which means all checks have cleared the bank), and no student may be admitted to classes without having met his or her financial obligations. The Business Services office on the Columbia campus or the administrative office at any of the College’s campus locations will accept payment by cash, check, MasterCard, Visa or Discover Card. There is a $30 non-refundable charge for any returned check given to the College. No student may enroll, graduate, or receive a transcript until all accounts are settled. The term “account” includes any indebtedness to the College.
Student identification (ID) cards are issued to all students. This ID card is used for cashing checks and bookstore transactions, checking books out of the library, other identification, and admission to athletic events, social functions, and other college activities.
Registration Fees - Tennessee Residents
Maintenance fees are assessed on a per-semester-hour basis up to an established maximum. Hours in excess of 12 taken in any semester (excluding summer) are included in the maximum fee limitation and no charge is assigned to them. Maintenance fees are determined annually by the Tennessee Board of Regents. Maintenance fees for in-state students for 2008-2009 are $107 per hour up to a maximum of $1,253 per semester.
- Certain statutory fee exceptions exist for dependents and spouses of military personnel who were killed, died as a direct result of injuries received, or were officially reported as being either a prisoner of war or missing in action while serving honorably as a member of the United States armed forces during a qualifying period of armed conflict. Contact the Admissions office if you qualify.
- Persons who are totally disabled, persons 65 years of age or older, and persons reaching 65 during the semester who are domiciled in Tennessee are eligible to enroll in courses for credit at a reduced rate; however, all other special and incidental fees apply.
- Totally disabled persons and persons 60 years of age or older who are domiciled in Tennessee are eligible to enroll in courses, subject to space available, as audit students without payment of tuition, maintenance, or registration fees. However, the application fee and access fee are required.
- Maximum fees may not apply to special offerings between terms, concentrated courses during a term, and summer term courses.
Students enrolling in regular college classes on an audit basis are required to pay the same fees as those enrolling for credit, except those 60 years of age or older and/or totally disabled persons as noted above.
For purposes of 2 and 3 above, a totally disabled person is defined as a person “suffering from a permanent total disability which totally incapacitates such person from working at an occupation which brings him/her an income.” This definition is established by law and cannot be modified by the Tennessee Board of Regents or the College. Persons who feel they qualify under this definition should contact the coordinator of disability services for more information.
Registration Fees - Non-residents of Tennessee
Maintenance fees for non-residents of Tennessee for 2008-2009 are $431 per hour up to a maximum of $5,003 per semester.
Residency Classification - Students are classified as in-state or out-of-state for the purpose of assessing fees and tuition based on regulations established by the Tennessee Board of Regents. These regulations state that: (1) students receiving support from their parents are residents of the same state as their parents, and (2) students independent of parental support establish Tennessee residency for fee purposes by producing evidence of domicile to the College’s satisfaction and proving that they came to Tennessee for reasons other than obtaining an education for themselves or their spouses.
The responsibility for residency classification rests with the director of admissions and financial aid and all requests must be sent to the director. Residency classification may be appealed to the vice president for student services and enrollment management.
The Center for Economic and Community Development publishes course fees in its non-credit schedule each semester. The fee for a course is based on length, instructor payment, and other cost-related factors.
Summer Term Fees
Fees and expenses for the summer term are assessed on a per-semester-hour basis with no maximum.
Books and Supplies
Since the cost of books and supplies varies from one program to another and from semester to semester, only an average cost can be included in the catalog. The average cost of books and supplies is approximately $300 per semester. Books and supplies can be purchased from the Barnes & Noble college bookstore.
Application Fee (Non-refundable)
Applicants are required to submit a one-time nonrefundable fee of $10 with their initial application for admission. An application fee is not assessed for non-credit courses.
Late Registration Fee (Non-refundable)
A non-refundable late registration fee of $10 will be assessed for any student who does not complete registration within the period designated by the College.
- A late registration fee is not assessed when registering late in any non-credit course.
- A late registration fee will not apply to classes where it is deemed necessary by the director of records and registration that further recruiting is required in order to develop the class.
Credit by Exam Fee (Non-refundable)
A fee of $15 per credit hour is charged for each exam a student takes to obtain “Credit by Exam.”
Credit for Prior Learning Fee (Non-refundable)
A fee of $15 per credit hour is charged for any credit awarded for prior learning.
Technology Access Fee (Non-refundable)
A technology access fee of $10 per credit hour up to a maximum of $112.50 per semester is included in the registration fees. This fee is non-refundable except in situations where maintenance fees are refunded at 100%.
Replacement of Lost ID Card (Non-refundable)
A non-refundable fee of $1 is charged to replace a lost ID card.
Individual Instruction in Music
A fee of $60 per credit hour is charged for all individual instruction courses in music.
Music fees will be refunded on the same basis as maintenance fees.
Graduation Fee (Non-refundable)
All graduating students are assessed a $25 non-refundable processing fee, which is due when the “Intent to Graduate” form is filed.
Internet Course Fee
A fee of $25 per credit hour will be charged for each Columbia State Internet course.
Regents Online Degree Program (RODP) Course Fee
A fee of $43 per credit hour will be charged for each RODP course.
For more information, go to “Tuition and Fees” at www.rodp.org or go to http://www.columbiastate.edu/financialaid/tuition_fees.htm.
Nursing Fee (Non-refundable)
Achievement test fees are charged based on the cost of the tests taken and are payable over the course of study.
Parking Fines (Non-refundable)
Students who do not register vehicles driven on campus are subject to traffic fines (see “Student Parking,” in the Student Handbook under Student Life). All fines are payable in the Business Services office and double if not paid before the semester ends. Student records will be encumbered until all fines are cleared. Appeals should be submitted to the vice president for student services and enrollment management in writing within five (5) days from the date of the citation.
Campus Access Fee (Non-refundable)
A campus access fee of $5 per semester is included in the registration fees. This covers the cost of one parking decal. Additional decals may be purchased at a cost of $1 per decal.
Student Activity Fee (Non-refundable)
A fee of $3 per semester is charged to support student activities.
Returned Checks (Tuition, fees, etc.)
The Columbia State Business Services office will notify the student immediately upon receipt of returned or non-negotiable checks. The student will have 10 days to redeem returned checks.
In addition to all other unpaid tuition, fees, etc., the student will be required to pay: (1) the late registration fee and (2) the returned check fee. If the student does not pay the required fees within the time allotted, his or her registration will be voided.
Students are not officially registered until all tuition and fees, including any and all assessed fees outstanding from prior enrollment, are paid.
Other Fees (Non-refundable)
|General Education Development Test
|American College Testing (Residual)
|Nursing Challenge Exam
|Pre-Professional Skills Test
||varies according to the test
| ^ TOP
- Maintenance Fee Refunds and Adjustments
- Refunds are 100% for courses canceled by the institution.
- Changes in courses involving the adding and dropping of equal numbers of student credit hours for the same term at the same time require no refund or assessment of additional maintenance fees. The change of course fee would be applicable.
- The fee adjustment for withdrawals or drops during regular terms (fall and spring) is 75% from the first day of classes through the fourteenth calendar day of classes and then reduced to 25% for a period of time which extends 25% of the length of the term. There is no fee adjustment after the 25% period ends. Students enrolling in more than a full-time course load receive the benefit of additional course work at no additional cost. Dropping or withdrawing from classes during either the 75% or the 25% fee adjustment period will result in a fee adjustment of assessed maintenance fees based on the total credit hours of the final student enrollment as described in item j below.
- For summer sessions and other short terms, the 75% fee adjustment period and the 25% fee adjustment period will extend a length of time which is the same proportion of the term as the 75% and 25% periods are of the regular terms.
- All fee adjustment periods will be rounded to whole days and the date on which each fee adjustment period ends will be included in publications. In calculating the 75% period for other than the fall and spring and in calculating the 25% length of term in all cases, the number of calendar days during the term will be considered. When the calculation produces a fractional day, rounding will be up or down to the nearest whole day.
- A full refund (100%) is provided on behalf of a student whose death occurs during the term. Any indebtedness should be offset against the refund.
- A 100% refund will be provided for students who enroll under an advance registration system but who drop a course or courses prior to the beginning of the first day of class.
- A 100% refund will be provided to students who are compelled by the institution to withdraw when it is determined that through institutional error they were academically ineligible for enrollment or were not properly admitted to enroll for the course(s) being dropped. The director of records and registration must certify in writing that this provision is applicable in each case.
- When courses are included in a regular term’s registration process for administrative convenience, but the course does not begin until later in the term, the 75% and 25% fee adjustment periods will be based on the particular course’s beginning and ending dates. This provision does not apply to classes during the fall or spring terms which may meet only once per week. Those courses will follow the same refund dates as other regular courses for the term.
- The fee adjustments is calculated as the difference between (1) the cost of originally enrolled hours and (2) the per credit hour cost of the courses at final enrollment after adjustments have been applied for all courses dropped. Adjustments are calculated at the full per credit hour rate less the fee adjustment credit at the applicable fee adjustment percentage (regardless of the original number of hours enrolled) with total costs not to exceed full-time tuition. For students dropping courses resulting in a change from full-time status to part-time status, a fee adjustment in the tuition and fees will result only if the new calculated charges are less than the original charges. Not all drops/withdrawals will result in a fee adjustment.
- Out-of-State Tuition Refunds and Fee Adjustments
The fee adjustment provision for out-of-state tuition is the same as that for maintenance fees. The 75% fee adjustment period and the 25% fee adjustment period will follow the same dates as the fee adjustment periods for maintenance fees. When 100% of maintenance fees is refunded, 100% of out-of-state tuition also is refunded. Calculation procedures are the same as those specified for maintenance fees.
The president of the College has the authority to determine, on an individual basis, the applicability of the above refund procedures in instances of unusual circumstances.