Catalog and Student Handbook 2007-2008 
    Sep 21, 2018  
Catalog and Student Handbook 2007-2008 [Archived Catalog]

Columbia State Foundation

On June 22, 1965, the State board of Education approved Columbia as the site of Tennessee's first community college. At last, a college education would be more accessible for the residents of South Central Tennessee.

To help meet the scholarship and financial needs of its students, the Columbia State Foundation was organized in March of 1971 as a non-profit corporation. Its purposes, as specified in the charter are "to receive, hold, care for, invest, use, and distribute income for the promotion of educational activities at Columbia State." Since its beginning, the Foundation has provided over $8 million dollars in additional funds for scholarships and special needs at Columbia State.


The Columbia State Foundation encourages alumni, friends, economic partners and others to invest their time and resources toward the improvement of education at Columbia State and to making higher education accessible to students in the College's service area.

2005-2006 Executive Committee

Ms. Sydney McClain  


Mr. Jim Webb  

Vice Chair

Mr. Kenneth R. Horner, ex-officio  


Ms. Elaine Kelsey, ex-officio  


Dr. Rebecca Hawkins, ex-officio  


Dr. Ken Moore  

Development Committee Chair

Mr. Tim Pettus  

Trustees Committee Chair

Rev. Bill Williamson  

Community Relations/Grants Committee Chair

Mr. Jim Webb  

Investment Committee Chair

Mr. Doug Venable  

Trustees Committee Vice-Chair

Mr. Barry White  

Development Committee Vice-Chair

Mr. Fred White  

Investment Committee Vice-Chair

Mr. Jim York  


Mr. Waymon Hickman  

Major Gifts Campaign Chair

Foundation Board

Steve Bates   Steve Konz
Darlene Baxter   Dearl Lampley
John D. Beasley, DDS   Blake Lay
Victor Beck, Jr., DDS   Bill Marbet
Linda Boshers   Ben McKnight
Kenneth Cherry   Larry McKnight
Bruce Cotton   Richard Perry
Caroline Cross   Robert Phillips
Elizabeth Crutcher   Willard Pope
Jonathan Edwards   Nancy Ramsey
Ronnie Erwin, Ph.D.   Lonnie Roberts
Elizabeth Eubanks   Mary Ann Roberts
Jennifer Graham   Danny Rochelle
Ronald Griffeth, Ed.D.   Bonnie Rodgers
Richard Herrington   Karen Sinclair
Pitts Hinson, DDS   John Tomlinson
Jay Johnson   Con Vrailas
Sam Kennedy   Bill Walter